AIFMD Passport Extension: Second Round

It will be recalled that in July ESMA published its advice (2015/1236) on the application of the AIFMD passport to non-EEA AIFMs and AIFs. At the time ESMA only issued its advice in respect of six non-EEA countries: Jersey and Guernsey were a ‘yes’, Switzerland was a ‘yes, provided’ whilst Hong Kong, Singapore and the US were ‘not just now’ – see Regulatory Roundup 66 for further details.

A recent speech by Steven Maijoor, ESMA Chairman, advises that a second round of non-EEA country assessments will take place (albeit with no firm commencement date) in respect of:

  • Cayman Islands
  • Isle of Man
  • Bermuda
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan

Hong Kong, Singapore and the US haven’t been forgotten about as the speech confirms that they will continue to be assessed.